PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice pls.

Html_Headaches
28 Sep 2005, 02:23 PM
Okay I've been attempting to complete a html website for over 6 months now and havent been able to do so. Let me explain. I studied the tutorials at w3schools.com, htmlgoodies etc.. I fully understood and was able to implement everything I studied which was mostly basic html with some advanced tutorials on tables etc. So I immediately I made a basic text site and that was no prob. The problem set in when I decided I wanted to make a clan site for a game I played. At first design seemed to go fine with what I had adsorbed from these sites but then I came across a few stumbling blocks. First one was I tried to use all frames to make a site with a top header graphic that spanned the entire top of the page, a sidebar to the left, and a main body area to the right. What a nightmare and mistake that was. Then I learned that building a site with tables is far easier for a beginner. So I started to experiment with tables, at one point I managed to get a nice site layout with a 745x600 table setup that would expand properly in any resolution. At that point I thought things were good to go, I had my graphics designed, the general layout and background finished. Then I hit a block again and this is where I am today, I got the site fully layed out, graphics in place everything good to go, then I tried to add content to the main area's, add the sidebar buttons etc. I realised I couldnt get anything inside these tables to place where I wanted them to go. I ended up with the layout being incased in another table, so tables inside 1 big table. Am I doing something wrong? Should I not use tables for the layout? one thing I forgot to mention is that I want the entire layout centered in the screen and able to resize to any resolution, if anyone can offer any assistance I would be so appreciative because I feel I am on the brink of being able to complete a site but a few minor prob easily fixed issues