PDA

View Full Version : Reading from MySQL(PHP)

Liquid-Fire
18 Dec 2005, 12:57 PM
Ok I am a little new to php and what to use mysql for my news on my website. Now this is the order my my mysql table for the new:

id
date
auther
title
summary
fullstory

now this is the code for displaying a piece of news

<h2>November 22nd</h2>
<h3><?php echo( $row ); ?></h3>
<p>this is just a bunch text for displaying purpose</p>

Now I need the date to been in between the <h2>, and the title in between <h3> and the summary in between <p> becuase I am using a .css file to display the news in a certian way. Now this is how I am connecting to me db and is is working fine.

<?php
$database = "kaizendigital";
$dbloginname = "root";
$dbpassword = "";
$host = "localhost";

$link = mysql_connect( $host, $dbloginname, $dbpassword ) or die( 'could not connect' . mysql_error() . '.') ;
$selecteddb = mysql_select_db( $database ) or die( 'could not connect to ' . $database . ' please check to make sure it exists.' );

$query = 'SELECT * FROM `news`';
$result = mysql_query( $query ) or die('could not perform ' . $query . ' query.' );
?>

I need there are a few thing I need some help on. First how can I extract certain data for the db into a php variable like how cna i make

$title = title in the mysql db

The second thing I need help on is how only run the process for only to 30 newest news. I was thinging of doing something like:

for( $i = 0; $i < 30; $i++ )
{
//php code to print out news
}

but I dont know how to prin the newest news becuase I was thinking of id but the id goes forward.
The third thing i need help on is how do I know which news item is the newest and how do i select that. Any help would be great, thanks.

sm9ai
20 Dec 2005, 10:43 AM
Okay. A very simple way of doing it(there are other methods)

$query = 'SELECT * FROM `news` ORDER BY date DESC LIMIT 0,30';
$result = mysql_query( $query ) or die('could not perform ' . $query . ' query.' );