PDA

View Full Version : [ARTICLE] A look at internet trends

mclarke1987
07 May 2009, 05:55 AM
Since this is my first blog post here, my name is Michael Clarke, I’m a freelance website developer and you can check out my own site at [website removed]. In this article I intend to look at internet trends, mostly web 1.0, web 2.0 and the future web 3.0

When the internet was first developed it was intended to be a means of sharing information, this was Web 1.0 it was centered on sharing educational information, research, studies things like that. As it started to expand we saw the way it was used evolving. Designers got flexible & went to extremes with their ideas; the net lost all uniform it once had.

We are currently in the age of Web 2.0, this is a “loose” term used by developers, and some view it as purely a design term, some as a back-end. But what exactly is web 2.0? Firstly Web 2.0 is about the user interface getting information to the user in the simplest manner possible, making things clean and easy to use. The internet is expanding nearly everyone in the world has access to use a computer with the internet, and not all for educational purposes. This is where the “social” side of the internet comes in, that is the key reason why information needs to be simplified & unified once more.

Within web2.0 we’ve seen a few design trends, the first being the major use of widget style boxes for information, keeping the information organized and easy to locate. Another aspect that’s crept in is Footer sitemaps, these are the links in the bottom of a page, but they are there for more than design it’s for seo (search engine optimization) as well. Another thing has crept in and took the internet by storm, those glossy gradients, they are simple to make and they give pages a clean, sleek look which is hugely popular especially in today’s growing market of “social users”.