PDA

View Full Version : How would you build this site?

Fuzzylogic
08 Dec 2009, 02:05 AM
There will be two main categories, under which the site will fall, basically OS. Windows/Mac. Under that category, there will be three main differing categories with content that will be added often. Basically news and reviews and maybe something else.

We would like to allow, as easily as possible, any visitor to interact. We want them to be able to type comments, or give a review a plus or minus, and hopefully eventually register and have a few more perks for doing so. Now obviously because of spam it can't be totally open, but is this unrealistic? A little forum could be helpful as part of the site, but really unnecessary if people are able to connect with others they see on our site somehow through those other sections, news and reviews and stuff. Perhaps individual profile pages with registration, I don't know, I'm not a developer. I hope what I'm asking for here makes sense. They don't need huge profiles, just maybe something visitors can click on and see a little about them...

We would also like to allow visitors/members to search through those above sections in various ways. Most clicked, or most bumped, most talked about... whether it's a story or a review. On the main page we would like there to be a section that does reflect that...for example, in this box of four pictures, those are the top news stories being talked about or looked at right now.