PDA

View Full Version : Question for Freelance Web Design Professionals

kdubbie
10 Mar 2010, 12:49 PM
***just realized I didn't post this in the Freelancer section, sorry***

Hello, thanks for reading my post.

I am graphic designer (mostly for print, with some HTML and CSS work) and would really like to get into web design/development. I know how to design and code (client side) web pages, but I have very little experience commercializing them for other people. So to up my knowledge in general, I have decided to build a few for my friends.

The questions I have are geared toward protocol and working with clients professionally. Let's the take the following examples, pretending my friends are real clients.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Client 1: Photographer
Objective: display his work and promote his services.
No forms necessary except e-mail-contact form.

Client 2: Small Veterinary Clinic
Objective: To have an online presence where people can find out more information.
No forms necessary, this is simply to share information.

Client 3: Tattoo Parlor.
Objective: To display the work of all tattoo artists.
No forms necessary except e-mail-contact form for each artist.

So here are my questions. (*Note: these questions are geared for customers that want fairly simple websites-HTM, CSS - light Javascript. No server side scripting or database languages)

Question 1: What questions should I ask these client before starting, besides the obvious design ideas? Or what information should I expect the client to give me, besides content for each page on the site?

Question 2: What if the client wants to edit the content of their websites themselves? Is that common? Or is more common that any changes to the website go through the freelancer? And if the client does want to edit their own sites, how do I set that up for them for a fairly simple website?