PDA

View Full Version : Issues with IIS & Importing/Exporting text files for form data

dwnocturnal
31 Jul 2010, 01:00 PM
I'm relatively new to web design/development. I did a little bit back in the day, but mostly just html.

I've recently been given a task at work to employ a scrolling message board of hot items that are going on. I have no problem achieving this using the marquee tag for html. My issue is this:
Am I going to be the one updating this information all of the time? I doubt it, and no one else here has the knowledge (none whatsoever) to go in and edit the information that is scrolling on the page. To work on a way around this, I have implemented a link on this page to a page where a user can change the data that is scrolling and save it via a form. Herein lies my first problem:

I am trying to use a form with the <textarea> tag to allow them to input their data. This is fine, but I realized they would then have to copy and paste the previous data into this form if there were pieces that needed to remain...that won't do. I thought, ok, I'll just use php or asp to read the data from a text file and print it out in the text area...problem is, it never displays, it only ever displays the code and not the actual output. I have tried this several ways but cannot get it to work.

My next problem is then creating a function to save the data that they do edit in that form field directly to a file (actually the same file that it pulled the information from to overwrite it). Again I have tried several things here, but haven't been able to get it to work. Hopefully this is clear enough and I'll paste some examples below of what I have tried.

Ex 1 -

<?php
$saving = $_REQUEST['saving'];
if ($saving == 1){
$data1 = $_POST['data'];
$file = "impact.txt";

$fp = fopen($file, "w") or die("Couldn't open $file for writing!");
fwrite($fp, $data1) or die("Couldn't write values to file!");

fclose($fp);
echo "Your changes were saved successfully!";

}
?>