PDA

View Full Version : New guy here needing help with project

mntodd
30 Jan 2011, 02:16 PM
Well hello everyone, I'm a wannabe web designer & trying to help a group out with a web page. I'm not getting paid for any of this & in fact, throwing $ into it for hosting/domain etc. Just don't want anyone to think that I'm going to be paid for the help I hope to receive here.

I think it will be easiest to understand if I give some details. So here is what I'm wanting to do...

Background:
a dog related website where people come to chat about a specific breed & in fact a specific breeder.

Current:
I have setup a site that has a photo gallery, scrapbook, links page, and a couple of other pages including 2 live video feeds & chat from Ustream.

Project:
Want to develop a guessing game of sorts. As a new litter of pups is expected, I want to allow people to fill in a form that allows them to guess how many males/females and the specific time that the first pup will be born. I'd like to display the time of first pup's birth in the form of a countdown timer. Then I was thinking that all of this information could be displayed in a table so that everyone could refer to it & watch to see who's timer is closest to zero when the pups are born.

So, I think that I can probably figure out some of this but where I'm really lost is having the code of the countdown timer modified by the form entry and having a webpage populated with the form data. And of course I will need the countdown timer code for each user since they will all be different.

I've got a general litter countdown timer working so I have that code, but for me to get it formatted the way I wanted, I put the timer in it's own document & then use iframe to display it in the page that I want. So one question that I have is if it is reasonable to have a new .html page setup for each timer or if the timer code should be repeated on one document for each user.