PDA

View Full Version : Creating a poll...any experts out there?

smilingstrange
03 May 2011, 10:48 PM
Hi all!
Newbie here, I've just started doing a little bit of freelance web design work to help make some extra money and pay the bills. I'm doing pretty basic stuff for friends and friends of the family. I haven't really done serious web design stuff since high school (2001-05), when I first taught myself HTML. I learned some CSS in college, but now as I design, I mostly use Komopozer (a free WYSIWYG program, similar to Dreamweaver) to help me lay out the site and use my own (albeit, outdated) knowledge to clean up things or fiddle with details in the source code.

If any of you are experts on setting up a poll for a website I could really use your help!

I'm working on a website for a friend. It's pretty simple, except he wants me to include a poll in it and that's what's giving me the most trouble. I've tried googling how to create a poll but all I keep getting is poll creating websites, most asking for money and simply offering to host a poll or survey on their site. What I want to do is create a poll within the website itself. Here are the elements it should include:

The poll is asking people to vote for a candidate, there are 4 options.

1. Three candidates are pre-selected. For these options, I need to set it up so that you can just click on an image that says "Vote for Bill" (or whatever) to cast the vote

2. The 4th is an "other" option, where people can either choose from a drop down list of options, or in a form box type in their "write in candidate", and then click on the "Vote for Other" image to cast their vote

3. Once you vote, you should be automatically directed to a live results page that has a number or percentage break down of all the votes that have been cast so far (Candidate A, Candidate B, Candidate C, Other)