PDA

View Full Version : College for web design/devlopment? need options

cluongo
15 May 2011, 01:23 AM
I am in a bit of pickle and sort of lost.

I want to do web design/development as a career. I'm at a 2 year technical college in Atlanta, GA getting a CIS: Web Design associates.

I have a GOOD bit of knowledge going into this program and I mean over 5+ years of self taught experience. These classes im taking seem like they're not really propelling me forward. In my "HTML" class they are teaching us how to use tables....I mean really?

I want to be a do it all kind of guy...from the design in PHotoshop of a layout, to the slicing and coding into html/css, to the scripting Javascript/PHP, to the database management you name it.

I just feel like im wasting my time at this college and im not going to learn anything new or that will benefit me. The teachers barely seem to know what they are talking about.

My general question is what KIND of college would be my best bet. I know what I want to do, as listed above, and just want to learn that and get a job. So is an associates the best path? Or a 4 year degree?

I looked into a 4 year computer science degree, but they dont really emphasize on Web Design/Development from what Ive read.

Here is the BIG questions:
+What kind of degree should I aim for to do Web Design/Development
+What kind of college should I go to
+Whats a GREAT college in the United States that is ahead of the curve and great at teaching (please no Full Sail, for profit junk schools)

thanks guys

johnnyjims
19 May 2011, 08:43 PM