PDA

View Full Version : Feeling a bit discouraged :/

zawmbee
25 May 2011, 10:04 PM
Hi guys, I'm currently 16 and going through my 4th month of learning web development: HTML 5 and CSS 3. I've always loved web development and I'm a great web designer (and very modest, obviously). My only query and concern is do you think it's worth me learning further development and programming skills? I love IT, I aspire to be like Mark Zuckerberg, the inventor of Facebook; Matthew Inman, the inventor of theoatmeal; and Christopher Poole, the inventor of 4chan. I want to take a Computer Science course in University (I'm doing GCSEs now, so it's a long way to go) and hopefully advance my knowledge intro professionalism. I have a few website ideas in mind, mainly a personal site where I can showcase my webcomics, artwork, music and articles with a couple of friends of mine. And a music portal I wanted to start. These are my only intentions for learning web development so far -- there will be more. Do you all think this is a skill worth learning? Is there a bright future with dedication towards these languages (I want to learn Java, Javascript, C, MySQL, and PHP in the future). I have these concerns because there are easier options, such as wordpress, comicpress and drulap; but I don't feel comfortable using any of these; I prefer to do it myself and learn these skills. Will they be useful in landing me a job?

Advice would be appreciated, lads. Cheers for reading (:

Xandor
26 May 2011, 09:00 AM