PDA

View Full Version : General newbie questions about designing a memorial website.

blcampbell
13 Jun 2011, 12:05 PM
Guru(s),

I have taken it upon myself to design a modern yet simple memorial website for my family and our memorial scholarship fund, etc. My skill level is low in terms of modern web design. I understand the theory behind html, css, js, php, etc. I was a site admin nearly 8 years ago and am a tech guy, just on the hardware/server side as opposed to coding and web dev.

I have put some thought into this with my brother and we have an idea of what we want. I'll answer the questions I found in the newbie post:

1) Your current skill level in any web related field

As I said above, I don't know much that is current. However, I get the general idea and usually just need to tinker a bit to understand what is going on.

2) Do you want to do this yourself or employ someone?

I plan on doing this myself unless it ends up taking too much time or resources!

3) Where relevant can you provide an example of what you are trying to achieve.

I own a .com domain and hosting for 1 year on ipage. I thought their (ipage's) site builders really sucked to be frank.

For the home (title? landing?) page, I want the site to just be a single image stretched across the screen. Then, I would like some unobtrusive "floating" navigation that opens content in some of the negative space that exists in the background image. Content will just textural with possibly a link or two. I plan on including a guestbook and possibly even a photobook for other images.

Mostly, I just want the main page and maybe 2 static informational pages until I get my feet wet.

How deep have I gotten myself and is this too much for someone at my skill level? I'm 34, learn quickly and understand tech fairly well. I have Dreamweaver (CS5) and can get my hands on other tools.

Thanks for taking the time to read and/or comment.

blcampbell
13 Jun 2011, 01:43 PM