Thread: I need help to design a new site...

I need help to design a new site...

I am a photographer and have had my own website for a while www.blackshadow.com.au which is hosted through a template/hosting solution for photographers www.photium.com but it is now time for me to update to a more custom site that offers benefits my current site lacks.

I can’t find an “off the shelf” solution that offers what I need so it looks like I will have to either build it myself or find a very cheap web designer as my finances are very tight at the moment. The only web design skills I have at the moment are very basic HTML but I am tech savvy and have a bit of time to teach myself some more skills in this area.

I know there are some open source solutions out there that offer parts of what I need but it’s the tying everything together that I find a bit daunting. My current leanings are for either a WordPress or Joomla installation to handle the basic website functionality and user management. The part that gets difficult is integrating the gallery and ecommerce side of things in a seamless installation.

I’d really like advice from some experienced web designers in how to best go about putting together a site that meets my needs (as detailed below).

TIA, Richard

Essential
    Professional clean look
    Easy to maintain and update the site
    Optimised for recognition from search engines

General Site
    I like the basic look and feel of my current site but I would like a new site that incorporates the following:
    • The home page to have a photoblog flavour where I can post a photo of each new event and make a few comments about the event then when site visitors click on the image they can go to a gallery containing all photos from the event.

• The ability to send out email newsletters to registered users advising them of website updates or other news.