Thread: I Think I am in Trouble! Please Look!

I Think I am in Trouble! Please Look!

Anyway,

So I am doing a website for a customer. I am basically a freelance web designer and I put an ad on craigslist stating that I would make a website for "x" amount of dollars.

So I met with the client, who happens to be a injury lawyer (i am not going to name names, because I don't want this person "accusing me" to search the net and see this post)

Anyway, so the client knows that I use templates to create websites and he picked one out.

The client wanted a lot of content and when I started editing the page, I found that this template did not really work for what I was doing.

So I did a search on the net for something like "free lawyer css template" because I wanted a css page. They are clean and easy to edit

So I'm browsing around for hours and hours, trying things out, messing around with different idea's and I find this one "gallery / idea " page or so I thought. Anyway it had a link to download the template for free.

It already had lawyer information on it but I didn't think anything of it because it had a "fonts" and "psd" folder which to me, meant that it was template based ready to be used.

I did not pay for the template, nor did the site ask me to pay for the template.

So I did the site, the client was happy with it, and we were doing real good on google, etc...

I get home tonight at around 9:45pm and I check my email.

I got an email from some company stating that I had accessed their servers and "blatantly" copied their "entire" website!

Mind you, alot of the images were changed, and you can't copyright "font and text size"

Yes the images were "similar" because I did use the format I was presented with, basically 70% of the images were completely changed, the "image menu format" was changed, and all of the content was changed.